simply and purely: day seven.

February 26, 2010

today i went to a memorial service. memorial services are strange and beautiful things. this particular one honored the life of an incredible woman. kathryn waddell was a wife, a mother, a sister, a friend, and a wholly beautiful woman. she loved her God well, and loved her neighbor gracefully. i was honored to sit among those who knew her today and celebrate the life she lived well. many people spoke today, but the pastor shared a powerful story. in kathryn’s last moments, she and her pastor spoke about the 23rd psalm. in her last moments, she was surrounded by family and close friends – all holding hands – as her pastor read the 23rd psalm. and she slowly slipped away from her earthly life. he read that psalm today.

as i drove north this evening i heard parts of that psalm repeating in my mind. and i saw the beautiful landscape in front of me. snow covered mountains. clouds hovering. beautiful light hitting the water just right creating bright reflections. and i remembered God, working in this world. simply and purely as he does every day.

psalm 23

The LORD is my shepherd;

I shall not want.

He makes me to lie down in green pastures;

He leads me beside the still waters.

He restores my soul;

He leads me in the paths of righteousness

For His name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,

I will fear no evil;

For You are with me;

Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;

You anoint my head with oil;

My cup runs over.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me

All the days of my life,

And I will dwell in the house of the LORD

Forever.

Leave a Reply

